Gary Gibbons, MD

Gary Gibbons, MD

During a special Department of Medicine Grand Rounds marking the department’s sixthannual Alumni Celebration, Gary Gibbons, MD, director of the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI), offered a fresh perspective to veteran physicians, young trainees and other guests gathered in Bornstein Amphitheater.

As a federal government employee, he considers himself and his colleagues public servants, and science and scientists as public goods. He said his task is investing shrewdly in the public’s best interest.

In his Jan. 24 presentation titled “Charting Our Future Together: Setting an Agenda for the NHLBI,” Gibbons shared one of his goals for the next decade, a goal personally meaningful to him: promoting diversity in the next generation of clinicians and researchers through collective leadership, mentorship and investment.

“I don’t think there’s any better day to be a new scientist,” said Gibbons, a graduate of Harvard Medical School, who completed his residency and cardiology fellowship at BWH. “These are incredible times, and there is some great science to be done. It is always good to come back home and see the Brigham at the leading edge. There is an unprecedented opportunity for the next generation to transform chronic diseases and other issues.”

Gibbons’ two-day visit to BWH included meeting with junior and senior researchers across the divisions of Cardiovascular Medicine, Pulmonary and Clinical Care Medicine, Sleep Medicine, Hematology and Network Medicine, for open discussion about their work, current challenges and potential areas of collaboration.

Following the presentation, the department presented its annual education awards to residents, fellows, early career physicians and faculty members who have gone above and beyond in teaching and mentoring. Here are the award categories, descriptions and recipients:

Distinguished Resident Mentor Awards

Recognize medical residents for outstanding contributions to mentoring, chosen by HMS medical students and BWH interns.

Charlotte Paige Rolle, MD

Jeremy Robbins, MD

Michelle Yu, MD, PhD

Sanjay Divakaran, MD

Fellowship Awards

Recognize a clinical fellow in each fellowship program who has gone above and beyond in his or her efforts to teach, chosen by the Medicine residents.

Cardiovascular Medicine
Michael Silverman, MD

Janet Leung, MD

Alison Goldin, MD

Raj Gopal, MD, PhD

Infectious Disease
Daniel Solomon, MD

Sam Ash, MD

Anand Srivastava, MD

Amish Dave, MD

Distinguished Faculty Mentor Awards

Recognize faculty members for outstanding contributions to the mentoring of physicians-in-training, chosen by the Medicine residents.

Anju Nohria, MD

Michael Klompas, MD

Niteesh Choudhry, MD, PhD

Sunita Sharma, MD

Bill Taylor, MD

Early Career Mentoring Award

Recognizes a BWH DOM faculty member who is an exemplary mentor to other faculty, fellows and physicians-in-training.

Nora Osman, MD

George Washko, MD

Kenneth L. Baughman Faculty Mentoring Award

Recognizes a BWH DOM faculty member who demonstrates effective mentoring through guiding and encouraging the career development of DOM faculty.

Gary Curhan, MD, ScD